Etihad Campus, Stadium and Collar Site Development Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not doubting the poster. TBH I am. It would be extremely difficult to build and fit an arena in the space inbetween and part off a NS expansion and the Etihad Metrolink stop/lines.

If I'm wrong fair enough, but I just can't see it, when there's so much land to build on around the stadium, with the costs being significantly lower.

The information as it stands does seem likely to be wrong. I'm not an expert, but can't see that building a sizeable arena as part of the North Stand structure would be considered either viable or desirable.

However, I suspect that it may have a kernel of truth but have become garbled in the telling; after all, for quite a number of years, there's been speculation that the new North Stand structure might have the City store and other attractions built in, while an arena within the campus is also far from a new idea. I no longer receive information from people privy to what's going on in terms of the development around the ground, but was told a while back that an arena with exhibition and conferencing facilities was intended for the northern part of the collar site. If there's anything to Danny's information, I suspect that it will be along these lines.

The information as it stands does seem likely to be wrong. I'm not an expert, but can't see that building a sizeable arena as part of the North Stand structure would be considered either viable or desirable.