Mersey Gateway Bridge

Whats important here is the fact the private finance behind the project not only recoups the £600M it cost but over the next 30 years makes approximately £1.2Billion in profit.

No one cares about you or others sadly mate.

Sadly we have , once again, allowed our pockets to be picked. Same with the QE2 Bridge ... original agreement was for that to be a toll until the cost of building the bridge had been recouped. (approx 20 years) The toll was indeed stopped and changed to a 'CHARGE' and we still have to pay it

Is a great looking structure not taking on board economical matters.

I'm a teacher and have to use the bridge every day. £80 a month is about £130 of gross earnings. Don't we already pay road fund license and have the highest fuel tax in Europe? I could well be forced to move schools.
That's a hell of a job; moving a school. And you're talking plural there. More than one school to be moved.

The Dartford bridge was promised to be toll-free as soon as it was paid for. It was paid for in 2003. They then scrapped the toll and introduced a charge. It's genius I suppose. Next year they will start charging by the minute. 50p per minute is suggested so it'll be £2.50 if it's clear but £6.50 if there's a traffic jam...

typical...im going over that way tomorrow andidnt even know a new bridge was going up. how much is the toll?

The Dartford bridge was promised to be toll-free as soon as it was paid for. It was paid for in 2003. They then scrapped the toll and introduced a charge. It's genius I suppose. Next year they will start charging by the minute. 50p per minute is suggested so it'll be £2.50 if it's clear but £6.50 if there's a traffic jam...
Citroen drivers will be shitting themselves if that comes about.

I see the Jocks got a nice shiny new Forth Road Bridge toll free. Sniff.

I see the Jocks got a nice shiny new Forth Road Bridge toll free. Sniff.