Archaeology

BimboBob

In light of the quite funny programme on the BBC, Detectorists, I was wondering if anyone else likes digging old stuff up.

Way back in the bad old days of my life, I've calmed down a lot now, I studied Ancient History/ Archaeology. My goal in life was to become an Archaeologist. The trouble was I preferred messing around with the ladies of the dig rather than lying in muddy ditches all day and soon gave it up. The history part stayed with me though.

After watching the above programme I realised that I have never been metal detectoring.

Has anyone on here actually done this? Is it good fun? Nothing like the programme? I'm thinking I might take it up but don't have the foggiest about it.

Back in the early 80s I spent 6 months with Manchester University Archeology unit, digging up a Roman fort in Saddleworth,
it's called Castleshaw and is just above Delph, it's the sister fort to Castlefield.

I had a really nice summer trowel in hand, digging up a hypocaust, barracks and a kiln.

Not sure if they still do, but they used to welcome amateur volunteers to help in there digs

I don't think they would let a complete amateur metal detectorist loose up there though mate. I spent an age doing what you did, in a similar time frame, but never touched a metal detector. Have you ever used one?

Archaeology is so interesting and living in Orkney I see it every day, could go out to one of our fields and there is an undocumented cairn that nobody outside the family knows about. I could be driving to work one day and go past some standing stones 500-1000 years older than Stonehenge or a settlement older than the pyramids.

All very interesting, just a shame its difficult to make a career out of.

I have a metal detector but have no idea how to use it!

I live near an old Iron Age hill fort. Just from field walking we found some interesting but useless stuff. Wouldn't mind giving it a go over with a detector but have no idea where to start.