How Peter Swales became City chairman

Andrew Keenan

Team supported
Manchester City
I’ve noticed there have been a lot of threads about Peter Swales over the years, but none have provided the answers people are looking for.

I’m a former financial journalist and have been researching the Swales era for the last few years. Back in the day I created the Purely Man City blog, and have now relaunched it on Substack. I’m starting with a serialisation explaining how Swales became chairman. I’ve just published the first installment, which details a secret deed of covenant signed by City’s directors in 1964 that inadvertently paved the way for Swales’ rise to power.

It’s free to view via the link below:

https://mcfchistory.substack.com/p/how-peter-swales-became-city-chairman

Last edited:
There is a lot of betrayal in this story, but not only by Swales...
Interesting and thanks for publishing your research (to date). Clearly there are business shenanigans going on but I'd be interested to know how goings on at City fitted into the context of what other clubs were doing. Was that benign face of our war veteran chairman disguising the power struggles behind him typical?

Interesting and thanks for publishing your research (to date). Clearly there are business shenanigans going on but I'd be interested to know how goings on at City fitted into the context of what other clubs were doing. Was that benign face of our war veteran chairman disguising the power struggles behind him typical?
I have been researching City’s ownership during other eras, and there’s usually been some shenanigans at work. I suspect the same is true of every other club boardroom. The 1960s was also not the first time an Alexander had boosted his shareholding through unusual methods.