Cycling - hints, tips and routes

malg

I'm new to cycling, so thought I'd start this thread, as I'm sure there must be some other recreational cyclists on here.

I bought a MTB on eBay, a Genesis Mantle 20 (got it for £230, and the had only used it a handful of times). I've used it every day for work, but that's only down the road. I've also been on Clayton Vale about ten times, using the dark blue route (I did go on the red route once, but I'm still a bit of a shit bag, so I probably need to come off the bike a couple of times yet!).

So, I'm after hints and tips on looking after the bike. I do wash it weekly, and oil the chain.

Also, and more importantly, does anyone have decent cycling routes? I'm in Burnage, but don't mind travelling. I have a pathway (don't know if it has a name) that goes to Debdale, and has an off shoot to the canal pathway, but I've only used it to get to Clayton Vale).

Cheers.

Cycling along canal towpaths is great, usually there's quite a lot to see and it's easy being fairly flat. Not too far away you have the Bridgewater, Peak forest, Rochdale, Leeds/Liverpool and The Huddersfield Narrow Canals.

Make sure you keep your tyres pumped up rock hard, it makes riding a lot easier.

And never take your eyes of your bike or use a good lock and secure it to an immovable object. Bike insurance is pretty cheap.

If you fancy going a bit further afield the roads around Knutsford are very nice, not too many cars with a few tea rooms to call in at.

Don't forget to ride on the pavement when there are pedestrians about

And always cycle through red lights regardless of other traffic about

Until you manage these two things you can never call yourself a cyclist......

..... Other than that I hope you enjoy yourself. Some great places in the North West

For maintenance bike right is a charity based in openshaw where you can do basic maintenance course website says it costs £75 but sometimes they have free courses.