Autodesk Autocad 2017 - Help Required

Mike N

Anyone got any knowledge of the above drawing system? I'm currently doing a course which includes Autocad. I've never done it before and it feels very complicated and long-winded. Anyway, we have to do an assignment which includes reproducing elevations and floor plans.

My question is, does anyone know how to access a library of pre-drawn items such as windows, doorways, stair cases etc?

I used Autocad for years up to the 2013 version but all versions of AutoCad pretty much stayed the same, just with additional features & gimmicks, and i would expect that to be the same for the 2017 version.

Firstly, what type of building is your assignment for? Is it domestic, commercial or industrial?

The reason i ask, is because the actual drawing of things like doors, windows & stairs is pretty simple once shown, but the actual sizes used vary with each of the above sectors, depending on building regs & industrial standards etc. The hard part is usually identifying which standards/regs are required.

I can give you ball-park figures you could use, and simple ways to draw them but if you provide more info about your assignment i might be able to provide specifics.

Anyone got any knowledge of the above drawing system? I'm currently doing a course which includes Autocad. I've never done it before and it feels very complicated and long-winded. Anyway, we have to do an assignment which includes reproducing elevations and floor plans.

My question is, does anyone know how to access a library of pre-drawn items such as windows, doorways, stair cases etc?
Who you doing the course with ? I've only used up to 2013 always built my on library up, try spending a night on your pc building one up with the generic shapes then import them and modify dimensions, joint and fixing details to suit.