Froome

Helluva turnaround from him.
At 26 he was on the verge of being dumped from his contract. He was absolutely shit

He wasn't 'absolutely shit' at all, 5th in a Commonwealth Games TT for example, but I know what you're getting at. What seems to muddy the waters for some is his diagnosis for bilharzia, and his subsequent treatment. I'm no medical expert & have no idea what his treatment was, and if it would have had side benefit/spin offs. Presumably being cured of the illness itself would have given him some kind of boost in itself, if he'd previously been performing with that handicap. I need to read up a bit more on the condition.

“He had qualities other dopers did not have.” What would they be? An ability not to get caught? Kelly has always been full blown omertà on drugs. I don’t blame him. It would kill his legacy if he admitted to taking them. Yes, he was one tough bastard, yes, he was brilliant all year round, but let’s not forget, he was caught. Soemthing that can’t be said of Greg Lemond, the only cyclist I would ever bet my son’s life on being clean.

I believe you referred to some of Kelly's qualities. Of course, I would add aggression.

As for Lemond, I can understand why many think he is clean. However, could he have been clean and successful when so many others at the time were doping? Was he some kind of super athlete?

Lots of rumours around froome at the minute re mechanical doping not just medicinal

I must admit I've seen vids where it's been highlighted that just look odd

I believe you referred to some of Kelly's qualities. Of course, I would add aggression.

As for Lemond, I can understand why many think he is clean. However, could he have been clean and successful when so many others at the time were doping? Was he some kind of super athlete?