90 Year old gets 2 years suspended for killing 2 women in a motor accident

Blue Llama

I find this incredible. As far as I can see from what has been reported he has not even been banned from driving , although that might be just an oversight in the reporting. Until an elderly person gets sent down for killing or seriously injuring people in car accidents these selfish people have no consequences to worry about when they carry on driving when no longer capable of controlling a car. If this driver had been a 20 year old they would not be seeing the outside for 5 years. We have to introduce compulsory driving tests when drivers reach 70 years old.

As a HGV driver I have to take a medical every 5 years to ensure I’m fit to drive.

Once you reach retirement age the same 5 year rule should apply and those unfit lose their license.

In Ontario once you turn 80 you need to renew your licence every two years.

"At a renewal session, you will:

• take a vision test
  • join others in a 45-minute interactive group education session about new traffic laws, how aging affects driving, tips for older drivers and road signs
  • complete an in-class screening exercise
  • undergo a driving record review
After the session, you may need to:

• pass a road test before you can renew your licence
  • follow up with your physician and submit medical information
This will depend on how well you performed on the in-class screening components and a review of your driving record".

I'm all for mobility for the elderly but the decision should be taken away from the individual....

If a person can't pass a set of stringent tests then they have their licence revoked... They sell the car and take a cab

As a HGV driver I have to take a medical every 5 years to ensure I’m fit to drive.

Once you reach retirement age the same 5 year rule should apply and those unfit lose their license.