Learning the Guitar

I have been playing for circa 20 years but I'm not that great. I think you either have a musical ability or you don't - If you don't then it is hard yards and you have to work much harder to get good.

Hello, just seeing if anyone else started late ( I’m 41 ) or if anyone who plays has any good tips advice on beginners ?

I have never played a note of anything in my life :)

I can't stress this highly enough. Have a bit of fun by all means but if you want to play to even a basic standard you must get some decent lessons. A good tutor will get you to understand the correct techniques for playing that you will need every time you play. For example, your thumb should be on the centre line of the neck when playing and not wrapped over the top of the neck as you see many players do.

Getting this wrong on day one will mean you'll probably go on playing in this way forever or you'll have a hell of a job putting it right. Just getting this fairly simple thing correct will mean you have the right technique in place as you move on through more complex challenges later in your playing.

Good luck

I can't stress this highly enough. Have a bit of fun by all means but if you want to play to even a basic standard you must get some decent lessons. A good tutor will get you to understand the correct techniques for playing that you will need every time you play. For example, your thumb should be on the centre line of the neck when playing and not wrapped over the top of the neck as you see many players do.

Getting this wrong on day one will mean you'll probably go on playing in this way forever or you'll have a hell of a job putting it right. Just getting this fairly simple thing correct will mean you have the right technique in place as you move on through more complex challenges later in your playing.

Good luck
Thank you, yes I’ve got block lessons booked with a tutor

Good luck

Like this?

jimi-hendrix-700x366.jpg