Wycombe (H) - EFL Cup R3 | Post-Match Thread

One of the most remarkable – if not the most remarkable - post match press conference I've seen him do in the years he's been here.
No pissed-off look. No feeling of "Oh shit, I've got to go through this because it's part of my job description”. Just pure, unadulterated joy and enthusiasm for what he does – over and over, he says, this is why I'm a manager – and especially seeing the youngsters come through.
Everybody should watch that if they want to see what makes this man really tick. It doesn't matter that it's not a very important match against, let's face it, not very elevated opposition. I've rarely seen Pep so candid, so unguarded.
Totally agree... I sent a text to all my blue mates on a whatsapp group saying you've got to watch Peps post match press conference on the official website... its brilliant

The kid is phenomenal. He's pushing into spaces he needs to be, he's anticipating, he's playing forward balls into the penalty area.

The position he plays is supposed to be all about experience but he's breaking up the play like a veteran.

I'm convinced he will be ahead of Rodri very soon in the pecking order, certainly as he continues to fill out.
He was brilliant but it was Wycombe. Let’s hope we see some cameos in the premier league or against better teams in the carabao.

Noticed this myself. The back two rarely came forward to contest the high ball and tended to wait for the ball to 'drop' before making a move. This goes against the 'don't let it bounce' mantra that's been part of defensive coaching for decades and was initially quite worrying to see. It worked well last night but i'm not sure i'd like to see that 'tactic' employed against a top class front line.
I think they realised early on that they could not compete physically. Therefore found another way. Physicality will come as they mature.