An entertaining e-mail to Sir Ian Botham

debevec

My friend is training for a sponsored charity walk in a couple of weeks time for the Steve Prescott foundation. He also happens to write bizarre and often funny emails to famous folk. I thought I'd share this one:

Dear Sir Ian,
I am writing to you to see if you can assist me. As far back as I can remember you have been a constant inspiration to me, both as a sportsman (you were my favourite cricketer) and as a man (I have been known to eat Shredded Wheat now and then). However I am writing to you on this occasion because you are one of our country's most distinguished wa*kers.
I have decided to dedicate much of my time and resources to raising money for the Steve Prescott Foundation in September and am doing so by attempting a charity wa*k. Though I try and wa*k whenever I have the choice I have never tried wa*king to this extent before. As you are much more experienced at wa*king than I am you must be aware of how much effort and preparation need to go into a wa*k that is going to take eight days to finish. Therefore any hints or tips you can give are bound to be of great assistance to me.
I have started my preparations. I took things steady to begin with and had a few nice wa*ks with the vicar. Now, though, my wa*ks take me hours. At times I am wa*king so fast I swear that passers-by think my shoes are going to drop off! My friends are now so used to me refusing to go out with them because I am 'too busy wa*king' that they don't even ask me to come out any more. I have undertaken a dramatic reduction in my consumption of beer as I have heard this can have an adverse effect on stamina during a big wa*k.