Any agency worker experts out there?

swpswp

too near to the swamp thank you very much
At 4pm today I got told not to turn up for work on Monday. I have been working for Manchester PCT (NHS) for 2 1/2 years via an agency and without any warning,notice or definite reason thay have finished me. I have been told by several people that after 2 years they are obliged to offer me a permanent position. Anyone know of any course of action available to me? I am in a Union and will contact them on Monday. Thanks in advance.

I don't know about the offered perm position stuff as I've not been in a job long enough to be given the chance but, unfortunately agencies can do this sort of thing to their workers.

That's why they are cunts.

grab a copy of the agency bill guidance here mate >>>>> <a class="postlink" href="http://www.bis.gov.uk/assets/biscore/employment-matters/docs/a/11-949-agency-workers-regulations-guidance.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.bis.gov.uk/assets/biscore/em ... idance.pdf</a>

cant help you with this im afraid, but something about a 12 week qualifying period comes to mind.

after 12 weeks (starting from 1st october 2011), you will be entitled to the same entitlements as a full time member of staff with regards overtime, holidays, etc.

i did spot something here that may be of interest to you >>>>

Ending a pay between assignments contract
If the TWA (agency) wants to terminate the contract it must first satisfy the requirement for the TWA to give 4 weeks pay to the agency worker. The 4 weeks pay must be paid before the TWA can terminate the contract. The contract can end earlier other than by termination by the TWA eg if the agency worker resigns (4).