Correcting An Obvious Mistake

trublue55

Is football the only example, where there is no attempt to correct an obvious mistake, and no course of re-dress.

I am a newsagent, and i make my living delivering newspapers, if i deliver the wrong newspaper, or miss a customer completely, i do not take the view that it is not a problem,as most of the time, most of my customers will get the right paper, and it will balance out over the year.

Equally for example "i accept you say you ordered 2 pints of lager, but i thought you said a large wine, get over it, its still an alcoholic drink, it will balance out over the night" Don't think many people would find that acceptable.

"sorry we counted the votes wrong, and announced the wrong winner" - as a result the Monster Raving Looney Party will form the next government - but it can get sorted at the next election.

"sorry our referee f*cked up (again), but we can't do anything about it, you can always beat them next time you play them, and so what if the wrong team win our league / cup"

I could go on, but when oh when will football do something to correct an obvious mistake, or at least try its best to get the right decision / result as often as possible. Unless of course the powers that be are happy with "hand of god" goals deciding world cup matches. Next thing someone will suggest that FIFA are protecting vested interests, and may even be corrupt.

Sticking specifically to sport, is there another sport that is so ready to accept wrong decisions with no more than a shrug, and "it evens out over the...." ?

I

Can't wait for the video replays to come in to football.

Too many bad decisions being made.

Must be the only major sport that doesn't have this in.

Not convinced that will make much of a different to be honest.
If they're out to get us (which clearly is the case) then the ones behind the monitor will be as well.