******Cricket Thread******

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by bernabias home shirt, 5 Jul 2013.

  1. blue b4 the moon

    blue b4 the moon

    Joined:
    25 Feb 2005
    Messages:
    22,645
    Location:
    315 now Gold forever
    It's a limited overs game, the batsman is reducing the distance he needs to run/gain an unfair advantage, I have no problem at all with what the bowler has done.
     
  2. joe123

    joe123

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    740
    hmm, for me they should be giving a warning prior to giving someone out, and on this occasion ashwin had basically started his action. poor form from him, and not the first time.
     
  3. TheRemainsOfTheDave

    TheRemainsOfTheDave

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    3,036
    The rules need changing. If a bowler runs up to bowl a delivery and completes his action but keeps hold of the ball, it is deemed a non-delivery which suggests the ball never entered the field of play. Therefore it could be sometimes argued in a mankad that the batsman has been run out but play hasn't technically restarted. I agree that the batsman is trying to gain an advantage and perhaps a 1 or 2 run deduction penalty, or the umpire declaring the ball has actually been delivered with no runs scored, should be the punishment. They'll soon stop. Hasn't Buttler been caught doing this before for England? That said, I see batsmen doing it all the time and it does annoy me.
     
  4. homerdog

    homerdog

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
  5. crooky

    crooky

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    912
    Interesting having Stokes and potential England World Cup Archer on the same team in the IPL. Both all rounders and both cracking players.
     
  6. kippaxwarrior

    kippaxwarrior

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    13,041
    Location:
    Hulme or The Etihad
    Take a bow Jonny Bairstow. Just smashed 114 off 55 deliveries in The IPL
     
    bigstanhibbert likes this.
  7. TheRemainsOfTheDave

    TheRemainsOfTheDave

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    3,036
  8. ancoats

    ancoats

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    9,109
  9. jimharri

    jimharri

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    88,944
    Location:
    Surrounded by the dark side of the force
    Just watching the T20 game between Surrey and Middlesex. Quick question for you lads who are pretty well up to speed on the rules (laws?) of the game. The non striker had to scramble back to make his ground, having inched a fair way down the pitch for a possible single. Now, if he was to hit the stumps (with either his bat or a part of his body) would he be given out (hit wicket), the same as a batsman facing would if he hit the stumps? I'm assuming that, yes he would. The fact the non striker isn't facing wouldn't matter, I'm guessing.
     
  10. crooky

    crooky

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    912
    Pretty sure that's out yeah. The bowlers can even take the non strikers bails off, if they think they're taking liberties with how far up the pitch they are waiting to take a run.

    It's a controversial practice in cricket though and considered to be unsporting to do.

    Happened to Jos Buttler in this years IPL.



    So if that's out I'd assume hitting your own wickets would count as well.
     

Share This Page