Diabetiese

Mr Ed (The Stables)

Just been diagnosed with this condition "Type 2".

Put on medication by the Doc "Metformin" once a day for a week, then twice a day for a week, and in the third week three times a day.

I just wondered if any bluemooners are in this club that I joined last Monday, and how it has affected your day to day living.

I've already tried to eat more healthy. Any advice will be greatly appreciated I'm a novice at this lark and to be honest with you all still a little bit in shock.

Cheers

I don't know any diabetics mate so I'm clueless. There must be a few on here though that's either got it or knows about it. Wish you good health.

Mr Ed (The Stables) said:

Put on medication by the Doc "Metformin" once a day for a week, then twice a day for a week, and in the third week three times a day.

I just wondered if any bluemooners are in this club that I joined last Monday, and how it has affected your day to day living.

I've already tried to eat more healthy. Any advice will be greatly appreciated I'm a novice at this lark and to be honest with you all still a little bit in shock.

Cheers
Just keep trying to eat healthily. I have had it (type2) for about 6 years now & I'm still going strong. It barely affects me day to day, although I'm not on medication, I control it with diet. Make sure you attend for your check ups, watch your feet, any numbness or tingling in feet go straight to docs. Other than that just try to live a normal life.

Plenty of foods with a low GI/GL to keep your blood sugar stable.

Many find eating smaller meals more frequently a better way of controlling the condition.

Start with a breakfast comprising of whole grains - Weetabix/shredded wheat - sugar/salt free muesli - low fat yogurt and berries - real porridge,not this instant microwave nonsense - poached/scrambled egg on rye toast