Locked out of PC - help needed

Discussion in 'Technical queries' started by Phil Mitchell Foden, 14 Dec 2019.

  1. flyer

    flyer

    Joined:
    22 May 2004
    Messages:
    1,114
    Have a look at Computer Active magazine. There's an article on using Windows 7 safely
     
    karen7 likes this.
  2. SilverFox2

    SilverFox2

    Joined:
    27 May 2014
    Messages:
    3,597
    Location:
    Almeria
    What browser would you suggest for my Android box and phone? Currently using Brave but no vpn which I would like to use.
     
  3. karen7

    karen7

    Joined:
    4 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    96,457
    Location:
    Between zen and mad
    I'm on windows 7 lovely,i want to stay on it hence needing what TCIB told me to get
     
  4. karen7

    karen7

    Joined:
    4 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    96,457
    Location:
    Between zen and mad
    Thanks lovely i will have a look
     
  5. Centurions

    Centurions

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    9,588
    Location:
    South India, #iamrabin
    The add-ons or extensions are for your Chrome browser (I'm presuming you're using that?), whether it's Win7 or Win10 won't affect that.
     
  6. Centurions

    Centurions

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    9,588
    Location:
    South India, #iamrabin
    I don't do anything dodgy on my phone so only use Chrome on that I'm afraid.
     
  7. karen7

    karen7

    Joined:
    4 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    96,457
    Location:
    Between zen and mad
    No i'm on IE,i don't like chrome,if i put chrome on and download the bits i need will it still cover me if i use IE as usual,is it the computer or the browser the add ons i need cover?
     
  8. Centurions

    Centurions

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    9,588
    Location:
    South India, #iamrabin
    IE? Oh dear ;)

    No, any add-ons only affect the browser they're installed on. IE doesn't allow any add-ons at all. Have you tried Firefox then? It is kept up to date which IE isn't.
     
  9. karen7

    karen7

    Joined:
    4 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    96,457
    Location:
    Between zen and mad
    I'm off to the tecchy shop ha,i've tried backing up my current stuff but it keeps breaking down,something to do with a shadow file or something so i can't transfer stuff to a new browser
     
  10. SilverFox2

    SilverFox2

    Joined:
    27 May 2014
    Messages:
    3,597
    Location:
    Almeria
    Neither do I but prefer Chrome to be used by my browser without its built in back doors so use Brave to ensure no leakage.
     

Share This Page