The New Handball Law

Discussion in 'General football forum' started by Psychedelic Casual, 18 Aug 2019.

  1. Eds

    Eds

    Joined:
    7 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    4,973
    VAR was wrong in their interpretation. In your scenario a penalty wouldn't be given as this hand ball law only applied to the attacking team and the goal would stand as a goal scoring opportunity wasn't made. It just fell to Ota who lumped it upfield. The whole thing has been turned on its head as nobody imagined the scenario that we had on Saturday and if you look closely a goal scoring chance wasn't made as the ball actually fell nearer a Spurs player who just didn't react quick enough. Gabby then had to control it, open his body and curl it around numerous Spurs defenders plus David Silva. The goal, based on the law, should have stood as there was no justification for it to stand
     
    KS55, karen7 and bobbyowenquiff like this.
  2. TheRemainsOfTheDave

    TheRemainsOfTheDave

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    3,285
    The law doesn't mention the distinction between an attacking or defending player unless it's stated somewhere else, it just says:
    It is an offence if a player gains possession/control of the ball after it has touched their hand/arm and then creates a goal-scoring opportunity
    I'm not sure where this idea has come from that the rules say a defender can accidentally handle a ball whereas an attacker can't, unless they're pointing out the fact that VAR will spot the attacker's offence and punish them whereas the same isn't to be said for a defender.

    Either way, it's a pig's ear.
     
  3. LWashington

    LWashington

    Joined:
    24 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    6,732
    Location:
    Just on the border of your waking mind.
    Not sure what would be awarded but that exact scenario you describe happened in 2012 CL semi.
    Quality isn't good enough to see exactly which part of Cole it hits chest or chest and arm.

     
    TheRemainsOfTheDave likes this.
  4. OB1

    OB1

    Joined:
    28 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    12,923
    Location:
    Taking it one game at a time
    I've got a download of the IFAB Laws of the Game - and multiple people have posted the handball law on here. Hence my question. To be pedantic, you are not, as far as I can see, paraphrasing but giving an interpretation that goes against what the official line we are being given is. So I wondered if you had spotted something I've not seen but it seems you have not. So it still seems to me the rule is not as well written as it could be.
     
  5. LWashington

    LWashington

    Joined:
    24 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    6,732
    Location:
    Just on the border of your waking mind.
    Yes other people have asked this. Would the goal have stood if Laporte was 5 yards outside the box? On the half way line ? In his own box ? If it was just in the attacking penalty area etc, surely it would say that somewhere.
     
  6. danielwood5

    danielwood5

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    182
    That's kind of what I was trying to say, the official line from the Premier League is different to the laws of the game as written and accepted by the FA and IFAB.
    They either need to be rewritten in a much clearer way or get the Premier League to use the actual laws as written rather their own simplified for VAR version.
     
    karen7 likes this.
  7. danielwood5

    danielwood5

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    182
    I don't think it would restart with a penalty as in this situation the referee has to start looking at all the 'unnatural position' and 'making the body bigger' stuff. It would be a free kick to Littlewoods (I think) but God knows where they would take it from, in the box, at the point that it was picked up, etc, etc.
    Obviously if it's a deliberate handball then it is a penalty as usual. One of the new clarifications says that if the players hand/arm is above shoulder level then that counts as deliberate handball, so if the Spurs player had their arm just a little higher last weekend then we would have had a penalty for that if they could have worked out who's arm the ball hit first!
     
  8. caseball

    caseball

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    820
    It's interesting that a similar thing has in fact happened. If it was say Laporte in his own penalty area. The ball hits his hand/arm, not deliberate so no offence, he then clears it, showing control/possession of the ball, Aguero picks up the clearance, runs on and scores. Laporte has just unarguably created a goalscoring chance. At that point, the non-deliberate handball becomes an offence. The punishment for handball is a direct free kick and since the handball took place in his own penalty area, Laporte has just given away a penalty. He's one unlucky player.
     
  9. karen7

    karen7

    Joined:
    4 Feb 2010
    Messages:
    88,569
    Location:
    Between zen and mad
    No the new rule is it's not handball if it accidently touches a defenders arm/hand unless their hands are away from their body,attackers its any contact at all,if it hits the defender in the same way it hit eric then it's no pen in any phase of play,eric didn't create a goal scoring opp,it's not even clear if it hit him or both of them,the handball rules the prem have come up with are not correct,the governing body on VARs rules are not this stupid and by their rules it did not lead to an opp to score because at no time did eric get control of the ball and create the opp
     
  10. Psychedelic Casual

    Psychedelic Casual

    Joined:
    1 Sep 2016
    Messages:
    9,427
    Location:
    _nderground
    Laporte did not gain possession or control of the ball after it hit his hand. So it was not hand ball.
     
    karen7 likes this.

Share This Page