Running thread

Advice urgently required.
I'm relatively new to running having started in earnest around seven weeks ago as an FOC whose only exercise previously involved the odd long walk. My PB (some four weeks ago) for 5k is 26:14 which is, admittedly, not that impressive when compared to the exploits of some on this thread. Regardless, I was delighted at the time. My challenge now is to move beyond the 5k distance which has become my default option. Ideally, my goal is to run 10k without it feeling like an ascent of Everest! I'd be grateful for any tips or advice from the more experienced posters.

26:14 is an excellent time for an FOC. Don't put yourself down!
I'm 52 and my 5k PB is 28:40, although I'm only about 16 months into my running journey.

I'm relatively new to running having started in earnest around seven weeks ago as an FOC whose only exercise previously involved the odd long walk. My PB (some four weeks ago) for 5k is 26:14 which is, admittedly, not that impressive when compared to the exploits of some on this thread. Regardless, I was delighted at the time. My challenge now is to move beyond the 5k distance which has become my default option. Ideally, my goal is to run 10k without it feeling like an ascent of Everest! I'd be grateful for any tips or advice from the more experienced posters.
you started running 7 weeks ago and hit 26:14 , fucking nora , are you mo farah ? as for not that impressive wow you are mo farah

5ks I’ve always found hard to pace. It’s such a short distance you really don’t have much chance to make up any slowish k’s at the start. You have to go out pretty hard to give yourself the chance of a good time, but push too hard and then by k 5 you’re on your arse.
Ha ha I guess it's all relative but I would say 5k is a bloody long distance to 60 year olds or those who are not built like stick insects ! 80 pc of the public probably couldn't run 1k without stopping !