Do you play the Drums?

not my fault!

Team supported
God’s own
Ok just started to learn how to play (present from the other half at Christmas) and I'm now looking at Electronic drum sets.
The reason for the Electronic is due to space and more importantly noise! I cant have the street complaining so need something I can listen to via headphones. I dont have a huge budget (£500) but have seen three sets that fit the bill I think:
Roland HD-1 - small but cant be added to.
Yamaha DTXplorer - nice reviews but seems large.
Alesis DM6 - about somewhere in the middle of the two others and around £170 cheaper! But needs constant firmware updates I'm lead to believe?
Or if anyone who plays can suggest another option I'm open to ideas. Have looked on ebay etc for second hand ones but in honesty they seem to be selling for £100 less than new so I'd rather pay the extra and know I have a warrenty etc.
Cheers in advance.

I am a drummer and lucky enough to have very understanding/deaf neighbours, for advice with drum kits I would check out www.onlinedrummer.com and click on the community tab (top right).

As for the kits you have mentions I would stick with the Roland or Yamaha. Get down to a shop and give them a try see which you like best.

Good luck.

Why not get some practice pads?

My mate is a drummer and he says he just doesn't get any feeling from electronic drums. He uses these and they seemed pretty effective to me.

daveduke67 said:
Why not get some practice pads?

My mate is a drummer and he says he just doesn't get any feeling from electronic drums. He uses these and they seemed pretty effective to me.

I think I just like the idea/feel of sitting behind a set of drums.. That make sense? I want to feel I'm sat playing rather than just having a tap around on some pads.

farhie said:
I am a drummer and lucky enough to have very understanding/deaf neighbours, for advice with drum kits I would check out www.onlinedrummer.com and click on the community tab (top right).