Probate - Executor of Will

somapop

Hi all (something else to add to the arse end of a long, miserable-ish winter).

My mother passed away late last year and as executor of the will I've been dealing with correspondence with the solicitors.
As of this week the probate has been completed at around the same time as her house was sold (after torrid up and downs/sales falling through).

i've no experience in this at all, and mistakingly though probate would also include dealing with the will.
However, it looks like it's down to me to collect in all assets, pay any liabilities and distribute in accordance with the will.
I've closed down her accounts, paid of any outstanding bills, overpayments of pensions and let the shares companies know.
As far as I know, all that should be tied up. No idea what liabilities are in this context.

I'll be honest, I wanted closure asap and a fresh start to the new year and hoping this doesn't get messy.
Without going into too much detail I've not spoken to my sister in years, only meeting her as my mother passed away. Not a particular pleasant person (I'm being polite here but fill your boots with the depths this type of person would sink to to rip my mother off whilst alive).
She has children too, and were all reliant on my mother. There is some of the will given over to them but I'm not 100% convinced they wouldn't try and contest. That's a long, dark story that doesn't need tapping into anymore :(

I guess I'm asking for advice on what I need to be doing at this stage (with regards to distributing, assets etc). This is totally new territory for me, and I don't really have any one close family wise any more to go to.

I've briefly mentioned this to the solicitors and they can offer advice, but I'd be looking at £250 per hour and I'm not sure if I need t or not.

If anyone has a moment (PM if possible) I'd be most grateful.

Hi all (something else to add to the arse end of a long, miserable-ish winter).