COVID-19 — Coronavirus

Status
Not open for further replies.
I watched the press conference today and I just don’t get it - we’ve less than 40 known cases in the UK. Those people are now in isolation and/or being treated. How do we go from that to potentially 80% of the population being infected?

It doesn’t seem credible or realistic. My conclusion is based on nothing as I’ve no scientific/disease knowledge whatsoever so it’s likely to me that has the problem but if someone could give an outline of how we go from 39 cases to millions in the space of a few months, that would be appreciated

I watched the press conference today and I just don’t get it - we’ve less than 40 known cases in the UK. Those people are now in isolation and/or being treated. How do we go from that to potentially 80% of the population being infected?

It doesn’t seem credible or realistic. My conclusion is based on nothing as I’ve no scientific/disease knowledge whatsoever so it’s likely to me that has the problem but if someone could give an outline of how we go from 39 cases to millions in the space of a few months, that would be appreciated

The noises are that we can't stop it so why are we wasting resources on actually containing it when we should be making plans on how to ride it out.

I am afraid the Governments Chief Medical Officer painted a different picture in this mornings press conference because if push comes to shove up to 1 million elderly people will be very badly affected and need hospital treatment. Sadly the plan is to kick it into the long grass so that the peak is spring/early summer when the hope the NHS has more capacity.

I take your point but I know who I consider to be best placed to make a valid judgement

Yes but they are already taking some action to stop the spread by isolating people coming from outbreak areas. China is reducing the increase in the number of cases purely by stopping the spread and that relieves hospital capacity.