Grassroots coaching thread

kp789

After reading through some opinions in the thread on Englands football culture, it has got me wondering if any of you lot on here coach football as well as spectate? Thought this might be a nice idea to share coaching ideas, philosophies and drills etc, or discuss coaching issues.

I have been coaching for around 3 years now and am currently in California doing it right now. Looking forward to coming back and coaching in the UK again. It is my passion and something I wish to do professionally, but as I never played pro, I am already at a disadvantage. I have been invited into a number of championship clubs to observe the academy and first team sides, even managed to meet a city player out on loan! It was intriguing to see the difference in how sessions are run within academies in comparison to some of the 'old school' Sunday league guys.

I would like to kick off with a topic.

Firstly, I take my hat off to everyone who volunteers within football. They don't get paid for it and are ensuring that kids have the opportunity to play and progress within the game. But are some, doing more damage than good? Do not get me wrong, I am at no point criticising or attacking these volunteers. What I am questioning is whether we can proceed with the current state of affairs. One of the dad's goes off and does his FA level 1 and then is responsible for a major portion of his team and it's players footballing development, yet in most cases, they have next to know idea how kids learn, or take on information. Many do not run age appropriate drills, but revert back to what they 'used to do as a lad'. Is this one of the big reasons why the English game is failing? We are not concentrating at the source, the foundation of the game?