How Peter Swales became City chairman

Donoghue was also chosen as a Labour candidate for the 1964 General Election, but stood down due to ill health. Considering his insane workload I suspect he worked himself into an early grave.

I'll check my cuttings and let you know what I have about the rally .
There is only one family member left that I know of on my mum's side, another cousin of my mum and Peter.
I last spoke with him when my mum passed 4 years ago so fingers crossed he is still with us. I'll give him a call over the next day or two.

I’ve noticed there have been a lot of threads about Peter Swales over the years, but none have provided the answers people are looking for.

I’m a former financial journalist and have been researching the Swales era for the last few years. Back in the day I created the Purely Man City blog, and have now relaunched it on Substack. I’m starting with a serialisation explaining how Swales become chairman. I’ve just published the first installment, which details a secret deed of covenant signed by City’s directors in 1964 that inadvertently paved the way for Swales’ rise to power.

It’s free to view via the link below:

https://mcfchistory.substack.com/p/how-peter-swales-became-city-chairman

Well, fuck me, someone on here who knows something about what he is talking about. We should have you stuffed .....

Keep up the good work.

Well, fuck me, someone on here who knows something about what he is talking about. We should have you stuffed .....

Keep up the good work.
Nah! Why spoil a good myth with those damn facts? The OP is Mr. Gradgrind.

I’ve noticed there have been a lot of threads about Peter Swales over the years, but none have provided the answers people are looking for.