Building Houses

Bill Walker

Team supported
City
Im on house No 3 now, 2 bungalows and 2 storey over the last 10 years, I employ a builder (Im not one) but I have a lot of input, I really enjoy it and financially its a way of making tax free income

Anybody else doing/done it ?

11693870_10206806856031280_7182073912015460131_n.jpg

11667351_10206806865031505_7826877263209075935_n.jpg

After watching an episode of grand designs or homes under the hammer I'd love to, but in reality I'd be fucking useless and end up with a bit of empty land and an equally empty bank account. If money wasn't much of an issue though I'd definitely have a go.

bank loan/mortgage ?

they cost less to build than they are worth :)

plus we like living in brand new houses

You make it sound so simple. I'm fairly confident that if I gave it a go, I'd end up bankrupt and homeless. I'd do it if I was a builder I reckon or maybe even if I was even able to do a reasonable amount of the less heavy work but I can barely knock a nail in straight.

it takes a lot of bottle in my opinion,so hats off to you,it is a dream of mine,somewhere quiet with its own lake,i don't have the money if I did then I would be straight at it, I have a family which is the first thing I have to think of,security for them first,my dreams will have to wait.

I work for a national housebuilder so I have a lot of contacts that can help when I get to a stage where I can build my own. It's high risk but very rewarding, you just need to fully estimate the costs and do some research. A colleague of mine is building his own at the moment, found a plot of land with an expired planning permission, contacted the land owner and away he went. Is doing the foundations at the moment. It's a 2,700 sqft house as well so it's not a small job! Finding the land is the hardest part, as soon as it has planning permission it's worth a lot more. Fortunately that's my role in the industry.