Energy, the environment & climate change.

Trevor Morley's Tache

In response to a post in the US Politics thread (@Nightmare Walking).

I often see this topic pop up in other threads, and people have some very strong opinions on the subject, often without having a particularly good understanding of the big picture stuff, let alone the finer details.

I'm by no means an expert on the subject. In fact I've probably only just scratched the surface myself. As an inhabitant of this planet I have a vested interest in doing my small part to make a difference (for the better) to the environment. In reality, in just by being alive we have a negative impact on the environment and no amount of 'green' practices are ever going to change that, certainly not in the 'developed' world.

National Grid's Future Energy Scenarios are a good source of information on potential future energy needs by use.

They also describe future supply options by technology/resource to enable achievement of the Net Zero by 2050 target (and, interestingly, how consumer behaviour will need to change depending on the scenario...)

In response to a post in the US Politics thread (@Nightmare Walking).

I often see this topic pop up in other threads, and people have some very strong opinions on the subject, often without having a particularly good understanding of the big picture stuff, let alone the finer details.

I'm by no means an expert on the subject. In fact I've probably only just scratched the surface myself. As an inhabitant of this planet I have a vested interest in doing my small part to make a difference (for the better) to the environment. In reality, in just by being alive we have a negative impact on the environment and no amount of 'green' practices are ever going to change that, certainly not in the 'developed' world.