There WAS a genuine and deliberate attempt to play the ball by TAA. It was with his hand/arm. When the ball was played, his arm was by his side, which then moved out to contact the ball and gain control of it. Had that occurred on the goal line, there would be no argument that the correct decision would be penalty/red card for TAA.The new rule is yellow if it's a genuine attempt at getting the ball. Pulling someone back would still be a red card.
Aside from that, you're right that the suggestion that TAA should have been sent off for it is utterly ridiculous.
What's the difference?