Getting the ball first isn’t mentioned anywhere in The Laws of the Game in regards to this situation.
if a defender impedes a players progress (i.e. takes them out) they have to have knocked the ball out of control of an attacking player, therefore the touch on the ball stopped them from keeping control and not the act of impeding them. Having their studs brush against the ball is irrelevant, the question shoild always be dod the defender knock the ball out of the attackers control, if not then it'sa foul and a penalty.
Once again a referee made a perfectly good, correct decision then VAR got involved and a team was disadvantaged due to an incorrect and unnecessary VAR call.
Does a brush of contact against the ball now constitute a "clear and obvious error" or is the higher threshold for VAR intervention in the bin now too?
Hopefully that possible missed goal difference doesn't affect anyone's league standing come the end of the season due to VAR ignoring or overriding the guidelines they're supposed to follow and compounding their error by making a factually wrong decision.