Advice for getting a ticket for an away game

Bournemouth Blue

I live in Bournemouth these days so I rarely get to see City play except on TV. My stepdaughter has bought me a hospitality ticket to watch Bournemouth v City on Feb 24th as a birthday present, so I am delighted but obviously concerned that if we score I will be revealed as a City fan in the Bournemouth only home stands. I don’t think the Bournemouth fans are very aggressive, but do any of you have any experience? When I was a student in the 70s I saw City play away at Nottingham Forest, Everton, Liverpool and Leeds, when segregation wasn’t a thing, so I obviously suppressed my reactions when City scored, but I haven’t been in the wrong crowd for 25 years or so. Any advice? Please don’t feel it has to be sensible

I live in Bournemouth these days so I rarely get to see City play except on TV. My stepdaughter has bought me a hospitality ticket to watch Bournemouth v City on Feb 24th as a birthday present, so I am delighted but obviously concerned that if we score I will be revealed as a City fan in the Bournemouth only home stands. I don’t think the Bournemouth fans are very aggressive, but do any of you have any experience? When I was a student in the 70s I saw City play away at Nottingham Forest, Everton, Liverpool and Leeds, when segregation wasn’t a thing, so I obviously suppressed my reactions when City scored, but I haven’t been in the wrong crowd for 25 years or so. Any advice? Please don’t feel it has to be sensible
The only advice I can give is keep stum. I went to many away games before segregation and never had problems. Unfortunately things are a lot different these days.

You sound like a reasonable grown man, so I’m going to assume you can handle it. The “hospitality crowd” is generally not your average fist swinger, but with a few free jars in them, who knows…even in Bournemouth!