Burnley (3rd rd FA Cup) Post Match thread

Aguero's 2nd goal might be the best I've ever seen live, absolutely outrageous backheel by Gundogan which took out 5 Burnley players and an impeccably timed run with cool finish to match by Kun. An exquisite few seconds of football that was a real pleasure to witness.

But if Guardiola was manager of Burnley, where would Burnley be? No better than where we are now is my guess.
You seem to be saying that Dyche is every bit the equal of Pep as a manager - the differentiating factor being the lack of funds at Sam's disposal.

If that were the case, why is Dyche managing Burnley and Pep managing City, and not the other way round - or more telling, why isn't Dyche managing Juventus, R. Madrid, PSG or some other top, top club (no disrespect to Burnley) posing serious threat to win their league?

I've no personal knowledge about Dyche so let's just assume that he's an awesome manager.

I do know a bit about Pep though.

Pep can identify talent - convince management to procure that talent - can develop and motivate players - is able to break up cliques and to get everyone on board with his ideas - is fearless about confronting dressing room personalities, moving misfits on when called for - is a brilliant strategist and tactician - time and again City have been losing at half time only for changes to be made which turns the game around.

Finally, Pep is monomaniacally obsessed with football and winning - reviewing match tapes of the opposition for days on end before matches, insisting that players eat as a team for meals so as to control their diet, etc., etc. The guy is ultra-driven to succeed in football like no one else.

Hell, the players think Pep's crazy.

One huge advantage that Pep enjoys over other managers is that he is able to select the perfect job - one where management totally backs him, where he has enough say in personnel decisions and, yes, where there's enough money around so that he can get the players he wants.