COVID-19 — Coronavirus

Status
Not open for further replies.
As I have said to you before, I am a scientist, I am speaking to many other scientists, and that is our analysis of the current figures. My head is anywhere but the sand. I am reviewing figures every single day and there is no significant resurgence in the dead or seriously ill at this time. I hope it stays that way.
Well now the NHS has a process hospital deaths will be 80% less than March/April. (The NHS is useless when it doesn't have a process).
Also its 3 weeks from hospital admission to death so deaths will start ramping up next Wednesday.
In addition masks stop you getting a big starter dose of the virus so you are much more likely to survive.
Next Wednesday. I hope I'm wrong but deaths will start to ramp up then.

Last edited:
I wasn't aware of that, so if that's the case fair enough, I've generally concentrated on UK figures. I do know the spanish did lockdown much harder than us though during their first lockdown, so spread of the disease was likely much slower there than here.
Yes that's true, our lockdown was less strict, but it did get it under control.

You keep saying there is no evidence of a need to panic, I agree there shouldn't be "panic", but there certainly should be caution. The CMO this morning said both cases and hospitalisation were now doubling in 7 or 8 days, figures that can be seen in the available data. I'm not convinced that cases themselves are doubling that quickly, the graphs don't show it, though the rise does seem to be continuing.

However, 660 were in hospital in England on Sep 13th, on the 20th it's at 1141, not quite "double" but close enough, ICU has also gone from 74 to 142, so that is clear evidence. Also it can take 10-30 days to die from going into ICU, and obviously some may recover.