Any Sky Engineers out there?

bluemoonchick

Well-Known Member
Joined
18 Jun 2009
Messages
1,456
Location
Lees
I'm having issues with my Sky+;

1 - it won't record programmes and keeps saying clashed, even though I was only recording one channel. I have to pull the power cable out and reset the box to fix it but that only lasts a few days and then it stops recording again.

2 -when you watch the recording it keeps losing sound on and off.

3 - if it rains I lose the signal (i'm in oldham for gods sake, its rain 364 days of the year!)

4 - every now and again I cant get any channel and get a message "there is a technical fault with this channel". Again if I pull power cable out its sort this out for a while.

I'm out of warranty now so its gonna cost me £60 to get Sky to come out to it.

Anyone out there work for Sky and can offer any advice? Is my box knackered? It 3 years old now...
 

stony

Well-Known Member
Joined
19 Jul 2005
Messages
53,675
Have you tried turning it off and then back on again ?
 

ussy

Well-Known Member
Joined
1 May 2009
Messages
1,114
bluemoonchick said:
I'm having issues with my Sky+;

1 - it won't record programmes and keeps saying clashed, even though I was only recording one channel. I have to pull the power cable out and reset the box to fix it but that only lasts a few days and then it stops recording again.

2 -when you watch the recording it keeps losing sound on and off.

3 - if it rains I lose the signal (i'm in oldham for gods sake, its rain 364 days of the year!)

4 - every now and again I cant get any channel and get a message "there is a technical fault with this channel". Again if I pull power cable out its sort this out for a while.

I'm out of warranty now so its gonna cost me £60 to get Sky to come out to it.

Anyone out there work for Sky and can offer any advice? Is my box knackered? It 3 years old now...
same thing happens to me, my bloody wife keeps saying "their sending everyone a new sky card so thats probably why" im not sure thats the reason (probably isnt) but i get annoyed when it happens to me 2
 

bluemoonchick

Well-Known Member
Joined
18 Jun 2009
Messages
1,456
Location
Lees
ussy said:
bluemoonchick said:
I'm having issues with my Sky+;

1 - it won't record programmes and keeps saying clashed, even though I was only recording one channel. I have to pull the power cable out and reset the box to fix it but that only lasts a few days and then it stops recording again.

2 -when you watch the recording it keeps losing sound on and off.

3 - if it rains I lose the signal (i'm in oldham for gods sake, its rain 364 days of the year!)

4 - every now and again I cant get any channel and get a message "there is a technical fault with this channel". Again if I pull power cable out its sort this out for a while.

I'm out of warranty now so its gonna cost me £60 to get Sky to come out to it.

Anyone out there work for Sky and can offer any advice? Is my box knackered? It 3 years old now...
same thing happens to me, my bloody wife keeps saying "their sending everyone a new sky card so thats probably why" im not sure thats the reason (probably isnt) but i get annoyed when it happens to me 2
I got my new sky card two weeks ago and i'm still having same problems...
 

ussy

Well-Known Member
Joined
1 May 2009
Messages
1,114
bluemoonchick said:
ussy said:
same thing happens to me, my bloody wife keeps saying "their sending everyone a new sky card so thats probably why" im not sure thats the reason (probably isnt) but i get annoyed when it happens to me 2
I got my new sky card two weeks ago and i'm still having same problems...
shit!!!!
 

mcfc1982

Well-Known Member
Joined
11 Oct 2008
Messages
709
Location
heywood
i assume that you have contacted sky but most likely is your box is knackered and will need replacing, make the call as no quick fix will help. (according to the sky engineer accross the road)
 

modgeblue

Well-Known Member
Joined
13 Jan 2009
Messages
1,965
Location
sale
hi mate

i had the same problem a few months ago . i was out of warranty too . it tuned out to be a tree had grown to high and was blocking the signal. sky wanted to charge me £60 to come and sort it so i just sid forget it ill cancel and go to virgin. "well be there on tuesday mate no charge" came the reply. guy came out and put my dish on a pole no problems since. just tell them you will cancel im sur they will sort it
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
best thing to do is ring them up and explain the problem. when they say you have to pay for a new box, tell them your cancelling your suscription. they may or may not offer you a free box. its worth a try!
 

Don't have an account?

Register now!
Top
  AdBlock Detected
Bluemoon relies on advertising to pay our hosting fees. Please support the site by disabling your ad blocking software to help keep the forum sustainable. Thanks.