Golf Thread

Ashton open to visitors now, you can book a week in advance, members have first dibs up to a fortnight. We've resumed our 3:30ish Sunday slots now so may see you up there, wear your City cap so I can recognise you.
Yeah played there 13.45 last Sunday. Booked in for 14.45 this coming one.

See you in the newly untreated drinks area, with/without cap....will be in North Manchester Possé team colours, orange t-shirt.

I'm no pro but three things possible in decreasing order of cost.
1) Get new clubs
2) Get new grips
3) Clean grips well as a short term measure or even sandpaper them.
I am told that if you are getting blisters it suggests you're gripping the club too tightly which probably costs distance and accuracy as you don't release properly.
If u buy a cheap set make sure u get them regripped.
6 starter lessons most important to be taught the basics grip etc.
If u take to the game get custom fitted for your clubs best thing i ever did.
One tip when hitting in to the green always take 1 more club.
Most of all enjoy it

If u buy a cheap set make sure u get them regripped.
6 starter lessons most important to be taught the basics grip etc.
If u take to the game get custom fitted for your clubs best thing i ever did.
One tip when hitting in to the green always take 1 more club.
Most of all enjoy it
I agree about taking lessons being the most important aspect, its best to start with a blank canvas.
I would pass on custom fitting. If you're an average guy with an average swing speed regular shafted off the shelf clubs will do. A set of clubs custom fitted will be well over £1000.

How big a difference do the clubs make in general? I use the clubs my dad gave me from 25 years ago still and am contemplating getting a new set this year. The grips are all slippy and the give me horrible blisters, so think it might be time.
Re-grip them yourself... It's a doddle with some white spirit and double sided tape

It's 90% about the person and 10% about the clubs I'd say