Nothing in Law 11 for Offside mentions "Control". The relevant part of the law simply says...
- A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball, including by deliberate handball, is not considered to have gained an advantage, unless it was a deliberate save by any opponent.
Rodri is no longer offside as soon as Mings chests the ball. By doing so, Mings has played the ball deliberately. It is completely irrelevant if Mings does or doesn't control it.
And if you argue that he was challenging for the ball, then you have to look at the Offside Offences bit. The answers to this bit are clear as well though...
(answers in BOLD)
- A player in an offside position at the moment the ball is played or touched* by a team-mate is only penalised on becoming involved in active play by:
- interfering with play by playing or touching a ball passed or touched by a team-mate (NO - Rodri doesn't touch it until after Mings does) or
- interfering with an opponent by:
- preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision (NO - Rodri is behind Mings) or
- challenging an opponent for the ball (NO - not until after Mings has deliberately played the ball) or
- clearly attempting to play a ball which is close when this action impacts on an opponent (NO - Rodri is at least 2 probably 3-4 yards away when Mings chests it) or
- making an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball (NO - As previous, Rodri is at least 2 probably 3-4 yards away when Mings chests it)
The Ronaldo clip is exactly the same situation, and from what I've seen on social media is being reported in Italy as a refereeing mistake and shouldn't have been called offside.