But it should have stood, even looking at the new rules.
“It is an offence if a player:
- deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, including moving their hand/arm towards the ball
- gains possession/control of the ball after it has touched their hand/arm and then: a) scores in the opponent’s goal or b) creates a goalscoring opportunity
- scores in the opponent’s goal directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper”
That’s the law. Please tell me which bullet point Laporte breaks, because the answer is none of them. Clearly bullets 1 and 3 are irrelevant, it all hinges on the 2nd one. But he did not “gain possession/control” of the ball AFTER it has touched his arm. So there is no infringement of the laws there either.
Debating whether it did or didn’t hit his arm is the wrong discussion to be having. It doesn’t matter whether it did or didn’t, there’s still no reason to disallow it, even by the letter of the law.
We were shafted, pure and simple.