COVID-19 — Coronavirus

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm in asbestos removal by trade but the company I work for also have a demolition division. We ain't got any asbestos work currently so I am working with the demo lads on site.

The site I am on at the minute is in Birmingham city centre about 5 mins walk from The Childrens hospital so it's a pretty busy area.

I've been uneasy about going to work for a few days now as my wife is classed as high risk because she has Ulcerative Colitis and is on immuno suppressant medication.

I got a text last night after the PM's speech to say it was business as usual today and all sites remained open. I reluctantly went in this morning as unfortunately money talks as my wife is a self employed hairdresser and has stopped working because we have 2 kids and nobody to look after them and obviously hairdressers have been told to stop work.

When I got on site this morning it was as if nothing had been said previously. 20 blokes sat in a canteen, 3 toilets between everyone just a breeding ground for germs. We had a safety meeting and were told to keep 2m apart at all times and that was it. Crack on lads.

I thought fuck it and have gone on self isolation for 14 days and just take the hit of being payed £94 a week. Hopefully the government see sense and shut these down so people can get the 80% wages.

Christ! Good luck

I'm in asbestos removal by trade but the company I work for also have a demolition division. We ain't got any asbestos work currently so I am working with the demo lads on site.

The site I am on at the minute is in Birmingham city centre about 5 mins walk from The Childrens hospital so it's a pretty busy area.

I've been uneasy about going to work for a few days now as my wife is classed as high risk because she has Ulcerative Colitis and is on immuno suppressant medication.